On Vocations – ‘You Did This All For Me And I Don’t Even Care’

This entry is continued from the previous one and I strongly suggest that the reader read that first before this one.

So as continued from the previous post:

When the day of confession came, the designated kid was so nervous because he didn’t know how the priest would react to what he was to tell him. He thought that his mother might get to know of what he was to tell the priest or that he might earn the ire of the priest or that he might be made to perform a heavy penance.

Nevertheless he heard confession. Despite his nervousness, he got to tell everything on the list.

“I tripped an elderly woman.”

“I broke all the windows in the neighborhood.”

“I burned a cat.”

And the sins went on and on becoming worse and worse.

After the kid told everything he felt silent as he didn’t know how the priest would react. Just then the priest calmly said “for your penance, go in front of the altar and say ‘You did this all for me and I don’t even care 50 times.'”

This surprised the kid so given the cue he dashed off to the altar and started about with his thing. He swiftly recited the lines the first 10 times…

“You did this all for me and I don’t even care. You did this all for me and I don’t even care. You did this all for me and I don’t even care.”

Then slowed down a bit before the 20th time.

“You did this all for me and I don’t even care… You did this all for me and I don’t even care… You did this all for me and I don’t even care…”

Then went on even more slowly before the 30th time

“You did this all for me and I don’t even care…… You did this all for me and I don’t even care…… You did this all for me and I don’t even care……”

Outside the Church the other gang members were anxiously awaiting for their companion. All of them were scared at what could possibly happen to the kid because it was taking him too long inside. They thought as well that thought that their mother might get to know of what their friend was to tell the priest or that their friend might earn the ire of the priest or that their companion might be made to perform a heavy penance.

When they were not able to contain their restlessness anymore they tried to push each other to go inside and find out why their companion’s taking too long. When none could muster the courage to do so all of them decided to all go in at the same time.

When they entered the place they found their companion in front of the altar. Out of curiosity they slowly approached the kid. They then knelt beside their companion as they realized something the latter did.

There the kid was kneeling in front of the image of the crucified Christ tearfully saying the words: “You did this all for me and I don’t even care.”

The old priest in his delight then remarked:

“That was a wonderful story! Mind if I share it on Sunday?”

To which the young bishop replied:

“If anyone ever has the right to tell that story, it would have to be you. You see, you were that young priest…. and I was that little boy.”

Leave a Reply

