You Know Your Kid’s A Lot Like You When…

One good thing that breaks the rigorous monotony of yuppie life is when I get to experience what it’s like to be a father the kickass way. Sure I have a daughter but when her genes start to show themselves unexpectedly the experience can be rather amusing.

****************************************

Ako Sa Megamall, Ikaw Sa Malabon Zoo Lang

Days before my daughter was to celebrate her fourth birthday she was childishly insulting me that she would have a grander birthday than me. So the conversation went something like:

Bianca: Ako me cake sa birthday ko, ikaw wala! (I’ll be having cake on my birthday unlike you!)
Me: Kukunin ko yung pambili mo ng cake tapos ipambibili ko ng beer! (I’ll get the money for your cake and I’ll use it to buy beer!) Hahahahaha…
Bianca: *Cries loudly, runs to her grandmother then after a while comes back then shouts…* Ako magb-birthday sa SM Megamall, ikaw sa Malabon Zoo lang!!! (I’ll be having my birthday at SM Megamall unlike you who’ll have yours at Malabon Zoo only!!!)

Leaving me perplexed for quite a while. Damn, where’d she get that!!!

****************************************

Wag Mo Nga Kaming Pakialaman

When I came back home from work one night during the time when my daughter was still in her second day in nursery she unusually wore sweet smiles. I asked my wife why and she told me what had happened to the kid in school.

It turned out that when one of the teachers told her and another girl to keep quite and listen, she answered back: “Wag mo nga kaming pakialaman, hayaan mo kaming mag-usap! (Mind you own business, let us talk to each other!!!)”

And even funnier was that she was still unfazed when she and her mother was in front of the Principal because of the incident. She was hurrying her mother to go home already even while the school people was still berating her!

She got to realize how wrong she was when her grandparents and her mother kept on harping how wrong she was at home. It might have made her realize how wrong she was, hence the cute smiles all over me when I arrived that night…

****************************************

Astronaut Ako E!

In her yearbook my daughter indicated that she wanted to be a teacher someday. When I came back home from work one night recently I was quite surprised to hear that she wants to become an astronaut this time. When I asked why, she replied that there’s not much money for teachers and unlike for astronauts.

Anyway I and my wife proceeded to have a conversation. Then some moments later Bianca and my wife got to throw kickass lines at each other after the former refused to follow the latter regarding something I already forgot:

Eliza: Hindi na kita bati! (I hate you!)
Bianca: Hindi na rin kita bati! (I hate you too!)
Eliza: Hindi na kita ibibili ng gusto mo! (I won’t buy you the stuff you want!)
Bianca: Hindi na rin kita ibibili ng gusto mo! (I won’t buy you the stuff you want too!)
Eliza: Bakit may pera ka ba?! (Why, do you have money?!)
Bianca: Oo naman, astronaut ako e!!! (Of course, I’m an astronaut!!!)

And she’s still a friggin four-year old kid! I wonder what’s in store when she turns five.

Leave a Reply

