Just Some Stories

My daughter was just discharged from the hospital after 48 hours of confinement. With our fears of her being another case in the national statistics for dengue these days already allayed, all I want is my long deprived 8-hour-sleep before going back to my usual routine of office work then family man tomorrow. And to think I’m already enrolled for graduate studies and still working on another ball to my priority juggling.

Anyway just another couple of things before I doze off to sleep.

Health

It’s a good thing my present company had already secured an HMO for my wife and daughter before this incident happened. At least out-of-hand unplanned expenses running miles away from the family budget’s grasp were the least of our worries for all three times we had to have her checked for fever that kept on coming back apart from 2 days she had to be kept under observation in the hospital because of earlier symptoms possibly pointing out to the mosquito-borne disease.

A strangely sad contrast to such a degree of security was the lack of it when we were waiting for her bed to be fixed. A couple which looked to be in their forties brought their son because of dengue. The doctor which attended to the kid said he needs to be admitted.

Now I know more or less how this author must’ve felt when I saw how the couple reacted when they were told of the amount they had to deposit for their son to be admitted.

Taxi

While our recent frequents to the hospital resulted in taxi rides come the time to go home, this part’s not about any of those rides but those of someone else’s.

This blog entry by Adrian is just third of the more interesting conversations I got to hear from someone taking a cab.

The first is a story from a former colleague which told of a conversation with a driver which started off with an exchange of political opinions. He (my officemate) sensed that there was more to the guy when the guy used schooled English often. Because my office mate was intrigued of the unusually educated person he was talking to, the conversation turned to the account of the poor guy’s once affluent life including the known schools where he graduated and the properties he had.

It turned out that for some strange reason, the guy’s wife left him taking along everything with her. To which my colleague could only retort:

Damn! Diyan mo talaga masusukat ang pagkalalaki mo: yung kung papano ka babangon ulit. I hope you can take an advice though. Next time bro, just screw and don’t get screwed up…

LOL

The next one involves an elderly driver who tries to shed light on opportunities for medical professionals abroad to my officemate. This after he hears my officemate tell of his friends who have found nursing opportunities in the U.S.

After I got off, the driver went on to clarify stuff that appeared exaggerated to him. At least that’s according to a guy who handled one of the divisions of a medical supplies company in that country long enough to be able to have his children finish college here. In short it was the following day that saw my friend tell me how that guy related what he knew about life there, from details regarding rates of nurses in different states to decent estimates of cost of living there.

I guess these just go to show that despite the stereotype we have of taxi drivers, there are still some out there who make even more sense than even a good number of professionals.

2 Responses

  1. sorry to hear about your daughter. 😦 i hope all goes well with your family.

  2. yeah. thank God she’s a lot livelier today.

    thanks for the kind wishes btw.

Leave a Reply

