Oh Brother

I find it funny that, in some ways, life seems to mimic the blogging episode. That is, the absurdities you encounter in either bad apple is enough to get you hammering down on the odd one out. I’m talking about my recent difficulty in getting my printer to work yesterday and it definitely got me writing about what I had to go through then now.

Getting me out of my blogging stupor would not be the rant-worthy incident, (though it really is,) but the sheer fact that I just got the piece of nearly 2 year old junk to churn out readable prints. That despite having to do stuff with the hardware… from cleaning to test prints to re-inserting the cartridges to switching it on and off to resetting the printer then doing a combination of the same routines again. That despite having to put up with the printer when I’m so used to getting hardware technical support guys tinkering with it at work.

And it felt like I hit the jackpot… like I discovered the hidden combination when, after spending around 2 to 3 hours of painstaking to get the printer working, it spat out a recognizeable test print! That despite having done so for what seemed to be like about 30 to 40 test prints of nearly no color at all to that which had no black at all. The latter was the real whammy then because I had to print a scanned PDF file in black ink.

Also I knew I had to sort things out because should the need for something for my daughter at school come up, I could only imagine how much my wife would rare to smash the printer against the wall. My daughter’s assignment this afternoon only proved that it was well worth the trouble as I’m the only guy in this house with the patience to put up with erring hardware.

And it definitely was more on the wise side of things to get this old timer going as it eventually saved me a few thousand bucks with me not having to get a new one. Not to mention the trouble of getting rid of this chunk of hardware.

I’m not pulling my hair because of the DCP-130C for now, thanks to the Internet primarily.* Should it finally choke on me permanently, I can’t really say I’m getting something from the same manufacturer though.

* Thanks to phayber_optik of TipidPC for having the unintuitive printer reset procedures covered.

Leave a Reply

